Nationals articles

Davis and White determined to defend

Meryl Davis and Charlie White, the reigning U.S. ice dance champions, face an unusual opponent as they defend their title in Spokane: another team that has won a U.S. title. Actually, Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto have won five of them.

In recent years, American ice dance has been a discipline of dynasties. Belbin and Agosto won five straight titles from 2004 through 2008. They succeeded Naomi Lang and Peter Tchernyshev, who won five straight from 1999 to 2003. Elizabeth Punsalan and Jerod Swallow won three in a row (of their five total) before that. Not since 1996, when Punsalan and Swallow defeated defending champions Renee Roca and Gorsha Sur, have two national champion teams skated head to head for a U.S. title.

Continue reading HERE.

Other articles:

Free Dance

Original Dance

Compulsory Dance


Post a Comment